New Music: Torii Wolf "Pain Killer" (Produced by Mike Zombie)

CW Music 4:54 PM

 Highsnobiety Premiere
Thanks to her sultry voice, range and musicality, Torii has enjoyed a precipitous rise.  Leading up to her solo-debut, Torii has already premiered music with Pitchfork, Complex, Pigeons & Planes, Mass Appeal, Vibe & Okayplayer and been tapped for Vevo’s “dscvr” series (past alumni include Sam Smith, Alessia Cara, Tove Lo, Hozier & DNCE).
With an iconic producer who has a habit of producing and contributing to classic projects manning the boards, Torii Wolf & DJ Premier’s forthcoming collaborative union bum-rushes the walls of genres, age and expectations to let the world know a Flow Riiot is upon us.
“Produced By DJ Premier.” From Gang Starr, The Notorious B.I.G, Jay-Z, Nas, Dr. Dre, Kanye West, Mos Def, Common, Mac Miller, Snoop Dogg, Cee-Lo Green, The Game, KRS-One, Ludacris, Joey Bada$$ and his most recent vehicle; PRhyme (with Royce 5’9”); over the course of twenty-five trendsetting years, those four words have become synonymous with the cornerstone of hip-hop’s sound.
However, “Preemo” as he’s affectionately known, has always been a conduit for artists of all genres to affix their lyrics to his complex rhythms—D’Angelo, Janet Jackson, Miguel, Anderson .Paak, Lion Babe, Macy Gray, Neneh Cherry, Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera (which his work won a Grammy for) to name just a few. Throughout it all; Grammy’s, Platinum & Gold plaques, undeniable icon status, Premier has orchestrated a sound that remains a hallmark of positive and advanced music.
While Preem has previously collaborated with fellow iconic female artists, in none of the aforementioned examples has he taken the reigns to not only produce the bulk of the material, but too also serve as executive producer.  With a resume like Premier’s it takes a lot to get his attention---and perhaps more importantly; his respect.
Before Flow Riiot is released on 9-29, Torii lets go of one final track, “Pain Killer,” which was exclusively premiered by Highsnobiety.
Produced by Mike Zombie (of Drake’s “Started From The Bottom”& DJ Khaled’s “They Don’t Love You No More” featuring Jay-Z, French Montana, Meek Mill & Rick Ross fame), “Pain Killer” is the audio equivalent of an opioid, replete with Torii’s pleas to euthanize her anguish, yet so ultimately stimulating it creates a high you can’t stop craving. 
“Pain Killer” is a very intense record for me emotionally” Torii emphasized to Highsnobiety.  “I love the track that Mike Zombie created; his productions are dark and deep and that really resonates with me.  I want people to connect with this song on a level of compassion and understanding.  Falling in and out of love.  The strong similarities to the high you get from being intimate with another person.  Co-dependency. Vulnerability.  There is space and emotion in this record.  I did it in one take, so my raw emotion is immortalized here.”
“Pain Killer” is definitely the most left field production people will have heard from me so far” Mike Zombie stated to Highsnobiety.  I sampled "Nathan King- Gone Away" a musician that I really like and it really gave the production that feel to that airy, open vibe. When I heard what Torii had done to the record I was in awe. Not to be cliché, but she really embodies pain in her voice alone. When I spoke to Premier I was one honored to even work with him, but more honored that he respected the craft enough to let me mix the record. Not too many producers get to mix they're records nowadays and it was my first time ever doing it and getting the opportunity to do it with him for the first time is a true accomplishment.” 

Torii Wolf’s debut solo-debut, Flow Riiot, will be released on 9-29-17 via DJ Premier’s TTT (To The Top) imprint.
Pre-order Torii Wolf’s Flow Riiot at iTunes:
Stream & Purchase “Pain Killer” at Spotify:
Tracklisting & Credit’s for Torii Wolf’s Flow Riiot:
1.)   “Everlasting Peace” (produced by DJ Premier)
2.)   “Meant To Do” (produced by DJ Premier)
3.)   “1st” (produced by DJ Premier)
4.)   “Big Big Trouble” (produced by DJ Premier)
5.)   “Body” (Produced by araabMUZIK)
6.)   “”I’d Wait Forever And A Day For You” (produced by DJ Premier)
7.)   “Take It Up On Monday” (Produced by King Of Chill)
8.)   “Go From Here” (produced by DJ Premier)
9.)   “Shadows Crawl” (produced by DJ Premier)
10.)                     “Nobody Around” (produced by DJ Premier)
11.)                     “You’re Not There” (Produced by King Of Chill)
12.)                     “Where We Belong” (produced by DJ Premier)
13.)                     “Free” f/ Macklemore & DJ Premier (Produced by King Of Chill)
14.)                     “Pain Killer” (Produced by Mike Zombie)
15.)                     “Moscow” (Produced by Torii Wolf)
Executive Produced by DJ Premier & Ian Schwartzman
Photography and Artwork by: Amanda & Jaxon Demme

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »