New Music: Unk (AKA DJ Unk) "Shut It Down"

CW Music 4:18 PM

‘Fresh Off Dem Papers’ Will Be Released On 10-6-17 By Cleopatra Records
The Turn Up Is Real!
Unk began his career in 1998 as a member of the DJ entourage The Southern Style DJs and spent his first few formative years performing at parties, proms, pep rallies and other events around the state of Georgia.
After signing with Big Oomp Records, Unk appeared on his first hit record alongside Dem Franchize Boyz (Unk’s high-school classmates) on their On Top Of The Game album and then became a superstar virtually overnight with his 2006 debut album Beat’n Down Yo Block!, thanks to his certified platinum single "Walk It Out."  While Unk’s debut album peaked at #8 on the Billboard charts, “Walk It Out,” became a phenomenon; reaching #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, amassing over 50 million views on Youtube alone, Unk performed the song on the inaugural BET Awards ceremony and recruited Outkast to join him on the tracks remix.  Dispelling the notion he was a “one hit wonder,” Unk’s second-single, “Two Step,” was quickly certified Gold and featured a remix with T-Pain and E-40.
In 2008, Unk released his sophomore album, Second Season, which debuted at #6 on The Billboard Hot 100.  The projects lead-single "Show Out" again impacted the Billboard charts and its accompanying video featured Chilli from TLC. Capitalizing on the remix route, Unk recruited Jim Jones, E-40 and Soulja Boy for the tracks official remix.
Fresh off the success of his first two projects, Unk released a trio of mixtapes throughout 2009 and then saw his non-stop grind come to a screeching halt when he suffered a heart-attack in August 2009 that he attributed to his long work hours and unhealthy studio and road habits. 
While Unk has released a handful of singles since his medical issues arose, his new project, Fresh Off Dem Papers is his first full length album in nearly a decade. Today, Unk returns with his new single, “Shut It Down” and just as he states; the turn up is real!
Unk’s Fresh Off Dem Papers will be released on 10-6-17 by Cleopatra Records.
Purchase Unk’s Fresh Off Dem Papers at iTunes: here
Bandcamp: here
Amazon: here
Tracklisting for Unk’s “Fresh Off Dem Papers” Album:
1.)   “Intro: Fresh Off Dem Papers”
2.)   “Shut It Down”
3.)   “Yung Nigga”
4.)   “Gas N Fie”
5.)   “Bad Hoes”
6.)   “That’s All I Do”
7.)   “BankRoll”
8.)   “Put Down” f/ D Platt
9.)   “In Them Jeans”
10.)                     “Yeeaa”
11.)                     “Make Sure U Str8”
12.)                     “2 Step”
13.)                     “Walk It Out”

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »