Royce da 5'9" & JMSN Join RSXGLD On "True"

CW Music 6:58 PM
True 800


Before their much anticipated debut album arrives this Friday, RSXGLD (Ro Spit & 14KT) connect with fellow acclaimed Michigan natives Royce Da 5’9” and JMSN for a soulful new single, “True.”

There’s a deep and potent weight to the track, which stems from RSXGLD’s self-titled album, and it permeates through each element. JMSN, who appeared on lead single “I Believe,” sings his heart out on the chorus that pushes us all to leave the past behind us. And on their verses, Ro and Royce detail their respective come-ups and all they’ve been through to get to where they are today. As Nickel-Nine raps at the end of his bars, “A ni##a had negatives but my positive just gon’ have to outweigh it/ Ni##a, I’m just happy I made it.”

“True” hits especially hard because of its musical elements, too, which are brought through the immaculate work of 14KT and guest DJ Assault. You may know Assault for being one of the forebearers of the electro-dance sub-genre of Ghettotech, and he brings that sound straight to the beat on here for track’s second half.

“True” represents a musical journey of so much that Michigan has to offer the world, and it’s one hell of a way to get ready for RSXGLD’s impending release.

Check out the track, and head over to the retailer of your choice to pre-order RSXGLD, which drops this Friday, Nov 03. In addition to Royce, JMSN and DJ Assault, the 12 track LP also boasts features from Denaun Porter, Elzhi, Ronnie McNeir and more, and will be available in all formats (CD, vinyl, and stream/download), via Fat Beats Records.


Cover art designed by Upendo Taylor


01. 42175

02. Err’body Know That

03. ICU

04. Chainsaw

05. I Believe (feat. JMSN)

06. Converse (feat. Jerreau)

07. Over Your Shoulder (Angel & Devil) [feat. Elzhi]

08. Brilliant Cut

09. What’s Happenin’ Brutha (feat. Ronnie McNeir)

10. Give It All (feat. Denaun Porter)

11. True (feat. Royce da 5’9”, JMSN, DJ Assault)

12. Thought Bubble

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »