New Music: Apollo Brown & Skyzoo ft Westside Gunn x Conway "Basquiat On The Draw

CW Music 7:32 PM


After years of mutual respect, circling each other in collaborations, tours, style and respect, two titans of their craft have finally collided in Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s The Easy Truth. The album is everything you’ve dreamt it would be: breakneck instrumentals and syllables crafted to make your head spin. The marriage between Detroit instrumentals and NYC wordplay has never been more cohesive. Themes range from police brutality to NY ambitions; Skyzoo shows you the world the way he sees it.


Recorded and produced in Detroit, The Easy Truth, is the perfect distillation of hip-hop influences. Every moment on the album is a loaded question, a perspective positing a notion of truth, the convergence of grit and symphony.

Joining the artists on the record are Joell Ortiz, Westside Gunn, Stalley, Conway and Patty Crash (who guested on The Roots single “Never”), a reciprocal band of guests that only add depth and richness to the duo’s chemistry. Coming September 30th, The Easy Truth, is true to its titular description: honest, fluid, and organic.

Today we have another single, “Basquiat On The Draw,” from the hard hitting duo of Apollo Brown & Skyzoo; which was premiered by XXL. The team is back again with assistance from two of the rawest MCs in the game: Westside Gunn and Conway. Skyzoo dances through wordplay like nobody else can while Apollo's beats establish himself as one of the most elite to ever do it. Every note and syllable reinforces the the pairing's chemistry. The latest addition to the album's reveal is a look into the underbelly of New York- a black and white examination of classic styles.

“I've been rocking with Westside and Con since late 2014” Skyzoo commented to XXL. “They are like family to me. When Apollo played me this beat, automatically I knew who I wanted to get on it, as it fit their style of abrasiveness. The song is just in your face punch lines; three emcees in a free for all cipher.”

Checkout the XXL Premiere: here

You can now pre-order Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s The Easy Truth in all formats (Digital, CD and Vinyl)

iTunes: here

CD: here

Vinyl: here

Tracklist For Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s The Easy Truth:

1.) “Soapbox”

2.) “One In The Same” f/ Patty Crash

3.) “Jordans & A Gold Chain”

4.) “A Couple Dollars” f/ Joell Ortiz

5.) “Basquiat On The Draw” f/ Westside Gunn & Conway

6.) “The Vibes”

7.) “On The Stretch & Bob Show”

8.) “Spoils To The Victor”

9.) “Visionary Riches”

10.) “They Parked A Bentley On The Corner”

11.) “The Flyest Essence”

12.) “Innocent Ambition”

13.) “Care Package”

14.) “Payout” f/ Stalley

15.) “Nodding Off”

***All tracks produced by Apollo Brown

Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s Collaborative Album, The Easy Truth, Will Be Released On 9-30-2016 Via Mello Music Group

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »